Portion, Portions, Portioning

In a previous life (before my Gastroparesis diagnosis last February) I lost a significant amount of weight.  When people would ask me “How did you do it?” I’d reply: “The boring, old-fashioned way…diet, exercise and making healthier choices.”  They always looked a little disappointed…like I was deliberately withholding some magical secret.  The most important lesson I learned during that journey was portion control.  Back then, portion control meant enjoying two chocolate chip cookies instead of five or savoring half of a juicy cheeseburger instead of the whole thing.

Today, portion control is a valuable part of my low-fat, low fiber Gastroparesis diet and lifestyle.  Smaller portions of low-fat, low fiber food spaced out over four to six meals a day help me get the nutrition I need, maintain my weight (frankly, a problem I never imagined having!) and not feel so full and sick.  This isn’t the life that I chose…unfortunately, it has chosen me and there is an odd sort of discipline required.  It’s truly unfair, but this disorder still requires me to show the willpower (ironically) to stop eating before I’m full knowing I’ll regret it if I don’t.

The following recipe for GP-friendly Pear Cinnamon Streusel Muffins is a classic example of portion control.  Each low-fat, low fiber muffin contains 3 grams of fat and 1 gram of fiber in a pre-portioned package.  Just like the recipe for Egg and Dairy-free, GP-friendly Chocolate Loaf Cake in a previous post one serving is GP-friendly but have two or three and the fat and fiber grams add up quickly.

Having said that, these muffins are scrumptious…moist delicate pear and vanilla on the inside and crowned with crunchy cinnamon streusel…the lemon glaze puts it completely over the top!  I doubt they’ll freeze well so share them with all your friends and family.

GP-friendly Pear Cinnamon Streusel Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

1/2 cup fat free sour cream

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 tablespoons canola oil

2 egg whites

1 1/2 cups flour

3/4 cups sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup chopped, drained canned pears in juice

Streusel Topping

1/4 cup light brown sugar

2 tablespoons flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon butter

Glaze

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line a 12 cup muffin plaque with muffin papers (I use individual reusable silicone baking cups from Crate & Barrel).

In a small bowl combine sour cream, lemon juice, vanilla, oil and egg whites.  The mixture will look a little curdled.  Whisk dry ingredients to combine in a medium bowl.  Stir the wet ingredients into the dry then stir in the chopped pears.  Evenly divide batter between the 12 muffin cups.

Pulse streusel ingredients in a mini food processor until crumbly.  Divide evenly over each muffin (approximately 2 teaspoons each).  Bake 18 to 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the center come out clean.

Mix glaze ingredients thinning with a few drops of water if necessary.  Drizzle glaze over muffins.  Enjoy!

Helpful Hint:  this is the official start of holiday baking season.  If you’re still using the baking soda/powder that has been open since last year (even if it’s still within its use by date)  you might think about replacing each.  Fresh soda and powder yield better results.  The leftover baking soda is a great “green” cleanser.

Nutritional Information per Serving:

Makes 12 servings

188 calories with glaze, 166 calories without, 3 grams fat, 1 gram fiber, 2.9 grams protein

4 responses to “Portion, Portions, Portioning

  1. Can’t wait to try these, does it have to be canola? Would ordinary veg oil be ok?

  2. Any veg oil will work. I use canola because it’s lower in sat fat, has omega 3s and monounsaturated fats. They truly look and taste like “real” muffins not low-fat.

  3. Yay, I’m glad to see you got these to work. I look forward to making some.

  4. Thanks Mollee…from one GP-friendly baking to another!