Go Ahead…Ask Me

As you know, I’m a trained chef who happens to have Idiopathic Gastroparesis. The past year and a half or so has been a journey of rediscovering how to do the two things I’ve always enjoyed…cooking and eating. But thankfully some things do stay the same. For instance:

As a general rule a fillet of fish baked at 400 degrees takes 10 minutes per each inch of thickness (at its thickest part) to be done and remain moist.

A perfectly hard cooked egg takes 10 minutes covered and off the heat once it’s come to the boil to prevent an unappealing green line forming around the yolk.

Homemade oven fries brown and crisp best baked on a dark sheet pan…even better if the sheet pan is preheated along with the oven first.

Green veggies should be dropped into salted boiling water and cooked uncovered to preserve their beautiful color…even if you need to cook them to death because of Gastroparesis.

Purees freeze best when they don’t contain white potato or milk products.

Simple syrup is simply equal parts sugar and water.

A turkey or chicken burger is done (and still moist) when an instant read thermometer inserted through the side of the burger reads 165 degrees.

These are all facts I know and routinely forget that I know. I also make assumptions that everyone knows how to make or do certain things in the kitchen. Just like most of you this way of living and eating is a new challenge for me but at least some of the old rules and guidelines remain the same. So, go ahead. Pick my brain. Ask me. I’m happy to share and in the event I don’t know the answer I’m happy to attempt to find one. So what are you waiting for? Go ahead…ask me.

8 responses to “Go Ahead…Ask Me

  1. Thank you for all the knowledge that you have given me. The last couple of days have been especially hard for me. My stomach is not tolerating any solids – pain, pain, pain! But yet I am hungry… making meals for my kids and husband have always been a pleasure that has now turned near torture. They don’t understand and it is not my intent to make anyone feel bad for me… but on the days that Solids are impossible… do you have any easy at home liquified recipies? Thanks in advance!!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Amy, sorry you’re feeling so poorly. I’m afraid I wasn’t very creative when I was on all liquids (when first diagnosed). I lived on Boost and Isopure nutrition drinks as well as full sugar Coke (I never drank full sugar Coke before GP) and I ate a lot of sorbet. On the days the Boost was too heavy I cut it with cold water. You can also add a little water and heat the chocolate Boost like hot chocolate. The Isopure is clear and comes in two flavors punch and grape. It’s light and refreshing (as refreshing as a nutrition drink can be) compared with the thick creamy drinks. There is a healthier nutrition drink on the market called Orgain that is popular but I’m allergic to a couple of the ingredients. I then moved on to purees by adding chicken broth to everything (roast chicken, cooked spinach, butternut squash, mashed potatoes) before pureeing and thinning it to whatever consistency I was able to tolerate. The recipe for Creamy Chicken and Spinach Velvet Soup was a life saver for me. Basically, its a can of Homestyle chicken soup with egg noodles that I added some cooked spinach and some extra roast chicken to and pureed to oblivion. It’s listed on the Recipe Index page. Sorry I can’t be of more help. I’m not a dietitian. Have you seen Crystal’s blog? She’s a Certified Health Counselor who has GP herself. I’ve learned a great deal reading her posts. The link is at the bottom right page of the blog. Just click on “Living with Gastroparesis”. Take care of yourself and be well soon! Mary

  3. Do you have any favorite recipes for a crock pot that are GP friendly and tasty? I still work and would love to come home to a fresh-cooked meal that I liked. Domperidone is starting to work and I’m getting hungry! lol. Sharon

  4. Hi Sharon, glad the dom. is starting to work for you! Can you believe I’ve never used a crock pot? I did some quick snooping and found a few low fat crockpot recipes that look like good candidates for GP-izing. I have not made any of these. Keep in mind that just because a recipe adheres to the list of GP-friendly foods doesn’t mean that its GP-friendly for everyone. Each of the following recipes contains a few ingredients that you may want to leave out or substitute (celery has strings-sub in some ground celery seed/salt or leave out, onions-sub in onion powder, crushed tomatoes-sub tomato sauce thinned with a little water). I would leave out the green beans, red peppers and think long and hard about the zucchini and summer squash (I haven’t introduced summer squash yet myself and if you choose to include it peel it and scrape the seeds out). Potatoes should be peeled. I cook with small amounts of white wine/dry french white vermouth but if alcohol is a trigger sub with chicken stock. The same goes for tomato products-I don’t have reflux issues but tomatoes can be a trigger for those who do. The last recipe uses frozen tortellini-read the packages carefully as some brands are much lower in fat than others. As for chicken, after you remove the skin trim excess fat with a pair of kitchen scissors (especially with thighs). Enjoy! Mary

    Chicken & Sweet Potato Stew from Eating Well Magazine http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/chicken_sweet_potato_stew.html
    Lowfat Asian Crockpot Chicken http://lowfatcooking.about.com/od/poultrydishes/r/asiancrocktchic.htm
    Lowfat Chicken & Mushroom Crockpot Stew http://lowfatcooking.about.com/od/poultrydishes/r/crockchickmush.htm
    Crockpot Country Chicken http://lowfatcooking.about.com/od/crockpotrecipes/r/crockchicken.htm
    Tortellini Tuscan Stew http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/recipefinder/tortellini-tuscan-stew-4490

  5. I am following your blog now and recently started one of my own! I started my own since in addition to gastroparesis I am also celiac and lactose intolerant, so being creative can be challenging! My goal is to prepare several foods on Sunday evening to have handy for the rest of the week. Have you heard from many of your followers as to whether they also have to be gluten free and lactose free as well? my blog is: http://itstartswithmuffins.blogspot.com/

  6. Tessa, I am also gluten freen and dairy free (but not lactose–casein is my issue). I just went to your blog but haven’t looked around much yet. I will though. πŸ™‚

  7. Just visited and left a comment…looks great! I have readers who have gluten/lactose issues…I’ll mention it on Twitter and add you to my blogroll.

  8. Thank-you for the links Mary πŸ™‚ I was kicking myself right after I posted my question thinking, “this lady is a trained chef–they don’t use crock pots!” but I’m glad I did. You have a much better eye for decent recipes than I do. Thanks so much!