Fast, Fresh, Hot, Yeast and Dairy-free Squash Herb Bread

UPDATED 4/4/11

Originally, I suggested that this recipe could be baked gluten-free because it was originally published as a gluten-free recipe.  Since posting, two readers have encountered difficulties baking this bread gluten-free.  I’ve updated the recipe by removing the gluten-free suggestions.  My apologies for any disappointing results anyone may have experienced.

The title of this post basically sums up today’s recipe!  I’ve had this stashed away ever since I became “fascinated” by Gillian McKeith and her BBC show You Are What You Eat.  Actually, if truth be told, she kind of frightened me and some of her food combinations and recipes were a bit strange but I always agreed with her opinion that no one became unhealthy by eating too many fruits and veggies.

Unfortunately for those of us with Gastroparesis, getting our fruits and veggies can be a challenge.  While I was searching my recipe archives (digging through the pile of pages printed off the Internet that are precariously piled on the corner of my desk).  I came across this recipe I’ve named Squash Herb Bread and adapted from You Are What You Eat.  I thought it would be a perfect way to combine some veggie vitamins with hot, freshly baked bread.

This yeast-less recipe is very similar to an Irish Soda Bread which relies on the chemical reaction of a leavening agent to make the bread rise. It was originally written as a gluten-free recipe but only specified “gluten-free flour”.  I baked it with traditional white, all-purpose flour and substituted canned pumpkin for roasted butternut squash because, although I have some in the freezer, I felt that most people were more likely to have a can of pumpkin in the pantry.

Combining this handful of simple ingredients results in a golden, saffron-hued, rustic loaf of hot, savory bread that can be enjoyed hot out of the oven or toasted later…both with the added bonus of veggie vitamins.

Squash Herb Bread

This yeast-less bread baking technique is very similar to an Irish Soda Bread which relies on a leavening agent to rise.  The leavening agent in this case is baking powder.

Serves 8

1 1/2 cups roasted, mashed butternut squash (I used canned pumpkin)

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon herb seasoning (I used Italian Herb Mix)

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 cup cold water

Preheat oven to 375 400 degrees.  Combine ingredients with a large spoon in a large bowl. Place on a lightly floured surface and knead until soft and spongy adding a little more flour if the dough is too sticky.  Do not over knead. Form into a round loaf approximately 6 inches in diameter.  Place on a parchment lined baking sheet and cut a cross in the top with a sharp knife that has been dipped in flour.  Bake for 35-40 minutes.  Remove loaf with oven mitts and carefully tap the bottom.  It should sound hollow.  If it doesn’t, return the bread to the oven for an additional 5 minutes.  Cut into wedges and enjoy.

Nutritional Information Per Serving:

159 calories, 3.8 grams fat, 2.2 grams fiber, 27.6 grams carbohydrate, 3.7 grams protein

13 responses to “Fast, Fresh, Hot, Yeast and Dairy-free Squash Herb Bread

  1. Shari Larsen

    That sounds good! I have some frozen mashed squash in the freezer that I could use for this; it’s good to have another way to use it.

  2. Oh great! Good for you with that frozen squash stash…I have a whole menagerie in my freezer from squash to bags of mushrooms trimmings for soup stock and it drives Hubby nuts!

  3. This looks delicious! I’ll try it tonight with a gluten-free mix and let you know how it goes. Yum.

  4. Would love to hear how it turns out and especially what you used for “gluten-free flour”…just had some toasted with some Impromptu Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Soup and Moist Roasted Chicken Breast (both from the blog) for dinner. Enjoy! M

  5. Mary, this sounds A-MAZING! Of course all of your recipes do..I just have to buckle down and spend more time in the kitchen!

  6. Thanks! I hope you’re able to find some recipes that work for you. Be Well! MK

  7. Your recipes just keep getting yummier and yummier!! Thank you for posting this one-will give it a try to have with mother’s day dinner on sunday.

  8. YAY!!! I’m going to try it this weekend. I have pumpkin and squash…maybe I’ll try a combo. 🙂

  9. Hi Donna! It’s a nice, easy, quick bread but one reader had a problem baking it GF…may I suggest a sturdy GF bread flour. Enjoy!

  10. Okay, great to know…I won’t feel inadequate if I can’t do it then, lol. 🙂

  11. Okay, it was a no-go with Brown Rice Flour, lol. However, I suspect some of it was my inexperience in the kitchen. It didn’t rise at all. The taste wasn’t bad at all, but the texture was not quite right I think. I think I definitely worked it too much. I am not giving up though. I’ll try again. 🙂

  12. Let me do some investigating. Before posting I found several GF blogs where people were able to make it successfully. I’m on it!

  13. Oh Mary, don’t go through any trouble! It was worth a shot for me. Thanks for all you do!!!