Confession Time…

Bless me, fellow GPers, for I have strayed!  It’s been about a month since the Vitamix entered my life and I’ve been indulging “off diet”.  There have been dalliances with berries, onions, peas and greens other than spinach…and I’m not the least bit repentant!  My instruments of debauchery: Vitamix blender, fine mesh strainer, rubber scraper and ice cube trays. Would you like to hear more?  Discontinue reading now lest you be lured into similar mischief!  You’ve been warned.

All kidding aside, as I have mentioned a few times already, I was told that all baby food is considered acceptable for Gastroparesis because it’s pureed and strained.  So, why can’t I make my own pureed and strained fruits and veggies, season them according to my taste and press them through a fine, mesh strainer for further peace of mind?  With that in mind I have been enjoying Fresh Strawberry Puree and Five Berry Puree poured over my daily plain Activia yogurt and I’ve even taken some berry puree with me to pour over frozen yogurt at Red Mango (my favorite frozen yogurt spot).  I’ve also been indulging in cups of pureed veggie soup including Spring Pea & Lettuce Soup with my dinner.

I’m in no way advocating that these recipes are appropriate for everyone.  Remember, if in doubt, just leave it out.  You know your tolerances best and your personal judgment is still your best guide.

Fresh Strawberry Puree/Five Berry Puree

Perfectly portioned for individual servings of yogurt (just defrost one or two cubes) or dropping into smoothies (no need to defrost).

2 pounds fresh strawberries, washed and hulled or

frozen mixed berries, defrosted (I used a bag of mixed berries containing cherries, blackberries, blueberries and raspberries and augmented with a bag strawberries from Trader Joe’s)

Squeeze of fresh lemon juice

Puree berries thoroughly and press through a fine mesh strainer.  Stir in a squeeze of fresh, strained lemon juice.  Spoon puree into ice cube trays (2 lbs of strawberries fill approximately two 12 count trays generously).  Freeze then pop out puree cubes and store in a Ziploc bag.

Spring Pea & Lettuce Soup

Adapted from Epicurious.com.  Makes 6 Servings of 2/3 cup each

To put things into perspective, a 3.5 ounce serving of Gerber 2nd Foods peas contains 45 calories, o grams fat, 3 grams of fiber, 8 grams of carbohydrate and 3 grams of protein.

2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, chopped

1 head Romaine lettuce (approximately 1 pound) including dark green outer leaves, washed, trimmed and thinly sliced

10 ounces frozen baby peas, rinsed

1 cup low sodium chicken broth

1 1/2 cups water

3/4 teaspoon salt

pepper, to taste

1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh dill

fresh lemon juice

Spray the interior of a large soup pot with cooking spray, add olive oil and saute onion until soft (approximately 5 minutes).  Add garlic and saute an additional minute.  Stir in lettuce and cook until wilted (approximately 3 minutes).  Add peas, broth, water, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil and simmer uncovered for 10 minutes.  The lettuce should be very wilted and the peas should look “puckered”.   Stir in dill during the last minute of cooking.  Puree thoroughly then press through a fine, mesh strainer before returning to the pot.  Adjust seasoning with salt and pepper.  Season each serving with a squeeze of fresh lemon.

Nutritional Information Per Serving:

77.6 calories, 2 grams fat, 3.5 grams fiber, 10.4 grams carbohydrate, 3.26 grams protein

7 responses to “Confession Time…

  1. Yum, PERFECT!!! I received my book yesterday, but haven’t looked at it yet. I also bought a baby food maker which I also received yesterday. I’m going to be trying at least one thing this weekend.

  2. Great! I don’t know how a baby food maker works but be sure to press everything through a fine mesh strainer for good measure…Yes, Mom…Thanks, Mom…Whatever, Mom! Enjoy, MK

  3. I, too, must confess: I had some strawberries leftover from the baby shower, so I peeled the skins and seeds off and blasted them in the Vitamix. They tasted so good over angel-food cake — so much better than sugary strawberry syrup — and didn’t bother me at all.

  4. Oh good, I’m not alone! Just trying to expand my horizons safely and sensibly. I agree with something you wrote a while back…if I won the lottery tomorrow, I, too would buy everyone with GP a shiny, new Vitamix!

  5. LOL!!! Will buy a fine mesh strainer this weekend! 🙂

  6. Mary, I LOVE my Vitamix precisely for this reason! It has allowed me to add fruits and veggies to my diet that I otherwise wouldn’t be able to consume.

    I have a strawberry smoothie (water, berries, egg white protein) almost every single morning and blueberry and banana smoothies are a frequent afternoon snack. With the smoothie, I don’t even do any peeling or straining. I just throw the frozen berries in the Vitamix, crank it up to the highest setting and let it go until I don’t see any flecks of anything.

    I actually don’t consider it straying from the GP-diet. I wouldn’t do this with a regular blender, but with a Vitamix it’s essentially all baby food — which as you said, is “safe.” The problem with most of the “forbidden” fruits is veggies is that they have parts that you can’t break down enough by chewing – strawberry seeds, blueberry skins, etc. – which can compromise digestion. The Vitamix takes care of that. I even have some GP clients who make green smoothies in their Vitamix and do just fine.

    It’s just important to keep the fiber content in mind, making sure it fits into your personal daily allotment, whatever that may be. (Typically 10-15 grams per day, depending on your symptoms and tolerances.)

    Great post!

  7. Thanks Crystal! All good points…I tend to be very cautious and would do just about anything to avoid being “sick”…even underestimate the power of the Vitamix!