Sooo Clever…

Sooo clever I wish I had thought of it myself!  As you know, I’m the proud new owner of a Valentine’s red Vitamix and before you think it, I promise this will not become a “Vitamix Required” Gastroparesis recipe blog.  I just had to share one recipe from the Whole Food Recipes book that came as part of the order.

Ginger is every GPer’s best friend.  It aids digestion and relieves nausea plus, its spicy heat makes everything it’s added to (sweet or savory) warm, comforting and slightly exotic.  I thought I was being clever by peeling and freezing thumb-sized pieces of ginger then grating them and pressing the pulp through a fine sieve as needed.  Turns out there is an even better way!

Ginger Paste

What an absolutely fantastic way to always have ginger on hand for entrees, soups, marinades or even baking (use half the amount of paste if a recipe calls for ground ginger).

1 1/2 cups fresh ginger root (I peeled mine and sliced it into coins)

1.  If using a Vitamix:

Place ginger into the container and secure lid.  Select Variable 1 and turn the machine on and quickly increase speed to Variable 10 then to High.  Blend for 45 seconds, using the tamper to press ginger into the blades.

If using a food processor:

Chop ginger into small pieces.  Pulse in food processor stopping to scrape down the sides periodically.

2.  Press ginger puree through a fine mesh sieve with a spatula or rubber scraper.  Discard fibers.

3.  Spoon heaping spoonfuls (I used a 2 teaspoon measure) into an ice cube tray.  Freeze then pop out ginger paste cubes and store in a Ziploc bag in the freezer.

4 responses to “Sooo Clever…

  1. Now, this is soooo thoughtful of you to share this very clever and time-saving way of having ginger on hand or all times! Would you please share it with my readers by visiting my site and leaving a link to this article on my article on Ginger?

    Your photograph is amazing too. Wish you could load that too on my site.

  2. Thanks, I will!

  3. Ooh, that is clever! And another excellent excuse to break out the Vitamix.

  4. Break it out? Please don’t tell me such a fine piece of kitchen equipment is hidden away somewhere!