Leftovers for Lunch

A woman I once knew, who was a quintessential Yankee and wasted nothing, was kind enough to share half her sandwich with me.  It was a very odd combination…tuna salad with a leftover baked potato (skin and all) cubed and mixed in…and it was delicious.  I have enjoyed Baked Potato Tuna Salad ever since.  I’ve even been known to bake an extra potato to guarantee leftovers.  Pre-GP, my salad included lots of diced red onion and the baked potato still wore its jacket.  I’m Irish so as far as I’m concerned the skin is THE reason for eating a baked potato and the flesh is just the annoying part I have to get through in order to get to the good part.  Unfortunately for us, it’s not GP-friendly and should be discarded as it promotes bezoar formation*.

I debated whether I should post this as a recipe but decided to go ahead because it has always been and continues to be an easy and satisfying  lunch for me.  I don’t even bother with the bread.  I haven’t posted a photo because as you can imagine, like most comfort food, it’s not beautiful to look at but don’t let that discourage you from trying it.

Baked Potato Tuna Salad

I enjoy this as a “salad” but it can also be enjoyed as a sandwich or on crackers.  It’s an odd combination but really very satisfying.

Serves 1

1/2 leftover baked potato, skin removed and cubed (approximately 6 ounces)

1/2 of a 5 ounce can of white tuna in water, drained

1 tablespoon mayo of your choice (I like Hellman’s Olive Oil Mayo)

fresh lemon juice

onion powder to taste

salt free seasoning-I like Penzey’s Mural of Flavor (optional)

salt and pepper

Combine ingredients and season to taste.

Nutritional Information Per Serving:

182 calories, 6.2 grams of fat (if using olive oil mayo, sub in fat free if desired), 1.1 grams fiber, 14.5 grams protein, 33.6 grams carbohydrates

*For any GPer who isn’t familiar with that term, a bezoar is a mixture of food residues that can accumulate (similar to a hair ball in cats) in a stomach that doesn’t empty well.  Foods that have been associated with bezoar formation are:  Apples, Berries, Coconuts, Corn, Figs, Oranges, Persimmons, Brussels sprouts, Green beans, Legumes, Potato peels, Sauerkraut and Tomato skins.

Comments are closed.