D-lightful!

This is a Gastroparesis recipe blog and a vehicle for eating well and being well.  In that spirit I’d like to share that after almost a year my Vitamin D levels have finally settled into a normal range.  Shortly after my diagnoses last February I found out I was Vitamin D deficient after my Primary Care Physician sent me for blood tests at my routine annual appointment.  Why am I chatting about my Vitamin D levels?  Because a significant percentage of the population (non-GPers included) is Vitamin D deficient.

In a nutshell: Vitamin D is a fat soluble vitamin and hormone that promotes calcium absorption in the gut and maintains normal blood levels of calcium and phosphorus which are important in maintaining strong bones.  Vitamin D also modulates cell growth, neuromuscular and immune function and reduces inflammation.  There is growing research suggesting that Vitamin D provides protection from osteoporosis, high blood pressure, several autoimmune diseases and cancers.  Vitamin D is found in foods such as fish, eggs, fortified milk and cod liver oil and is synthesized in the skin when exposed to sunlight.  The U.S. government currently recommends 600 units per day.

My doctor’s first course of action was to write a prescription for 50,000 units of Vitamin D to be taken once a week for 12 weeks.  My levels rose to the normal range and I was told to take a maintenance dose of 2,000 units of Vitamin D3 per day.  I couldn’t maintain a normal level at that dosage.  My doctor suggested that people with digestive disorders have a harder time absorbing certain vitamins and nutrients and told me to increase my daily dose to 3,000 units of Vitamin D3.  Happily, my levels are now in the normal range and I’m continuing (under my doctor’s supervision) at the daily dose of 3,000 units of Vitamin D3.

I’m not a Dietitian and this isn’t meant to be nutritional or medical advice.  I’m  just passing along what I’ve learned from this experience with the hope that it will be helpful to other GPers.  So, if you have Gastroparesis and don’t know what your Vitamin D levels are I suggest you ask your doctor for a simple blood test to see if you are in need of supplementation.

As always…Eat Well!  Be Well!  Enjoy!

4 responses to “D-lightful!

  1. Fantastic!!! This is great news and encouraging. My doctor also wants me to take Vitamin D, but I had a hard time with pills. For the last several months I’ve been taking a liquid D3, and I can’t wait to see if that’s made a difference in my levels. I’m pretty sure I’m not taking enough though…she has me on a pretty low level and at the time she suggested that level I hadn’t received the GP diagnosis yet, so we’ll see.

  2. It’s one less thing to think about. Good luck with your levels!

  3. I am so glad I found this site. I feel so alone sometimes. People look at you like you are some kind of hyperchondriac if you tell them you have to take pills to eat, and you can only eat certain foods. I too, am Vitamin D deficient. I’m sure it’s probably available at other health food places, but I find the best way to absorb Vitamin D3 is a spray that goes under the tongue. I get it from a doctor in Chicago, a few hours north of where I live. His website is http://www.mercola.com. I use his probiotics as well, but I like the Align ones too. I am wondering though, if anyone knows how to lose weight with gastroparesis, because I have had no luck. I am also insulin resistant, but not diabetic. I really do not eat much, and yet I gain weight! I have the metabolism of a slug I guess. I believe my gastroparesis was caused by a botched tubal ligation reversal surgery.

  4. Hi Renee, I’m so sorry you’re going through all this. Have you seen Crystal’s blog Living with Gastroparesis? Here’s the link to a post she did specifically about weight gain: http://livingwithgastroparesis.com/gastroparesis-weight-gain-faq/ I hope you find it helpful. Thanks for visiting and commenting. Best wishes, Mary