If In Doubt, Just Leave It Out

I was going to title this post “Does Your Pee Smell Funny?  Mine Does!” but I thought that might be slightly crude so I showed a little self restraint…of course not enough to just leave it out entirely.  I was feeling adventurous so I tried a new veggie!  Asparagus.  It’s included in the sample menu provided to me by the Dietitian.  I’ve taken my sweet old time trying asparagus because when I noticed it at my appointment and started to get excited I remember she got a little cagey using phrases like: make sure it’s really cooked or maybe just the tips…not a very confident endorsement.  In all fairness we all know that no one can tell a GPer what will and will not work for them.  It’s all trial and error.

The bunches of asparagus at the market looked so healthy, like bouquets of vibrant green pencils.   Quality asparagus should be standing in clean water like an arrangement of cut flowers and the tips should be tightly closed.  Not only did it look beautiful but it was on sale so I bought a pound for me and a pound for hubby.  I’m a “less is more” kinda gal and (no secret) a very cautious gal so I thought an asparagus soup with only a few simple ingredients and some well cooked tips for garnish would be just the place to start.  As for the title of this post: “If In Doubt, Just Leave It Out”, this is the first time that I’ve included shallot.  I felt because everything was pureed and pressed through a fine mesh strainer that it wouldn’t pose a problem.  If you have any doubts leave it out and substitute onion powder.  I’ve also used a little bit of olive oil because according to Dr. Oz and Dr. Roizen, a little bit of fat enables you to absorb more vitamins from your veggies.  Again, if even a small amount of fat poses a problem, leave it out.  Your judgment is your best guide.

I enjoyed my Asparagus Soup with a “safe meal” of baked haddock fillet seasoned with a teaspoon of dry french Vermouth, garlic powder, salt and lemon pepper seasoning then topped with cracker crumbs.

Asparagus Soup

This simple soup tasted of asparagus…exactly as I intended.  Feel free to add any herbs or a splash of fat free half and half if you like.

Makes approximately 4 cups

1 teaspoon olive oil

1 shallot, chopped

1 pound of asparagus, trimmed and chopped-tips reserved

4 cups low sodium chicken stock

salt and pepper to taste

Spray a soup pot with cooking spray.  When pot is hot add olive oil and shallot.  Salt lightly and saute the shallot until tender and starting to turn golden.  Add asparagus pieces (reserving the tips) and saute for  a minute or so.  Add chicken stock and bring to a boil.  Simmer UNCOVERED (to preserve the beautiful green color) until asparagus is very tender.  Puree thoroughly and press through a fine mesh sieve to catch any stringy fibers.  Return soup to the pot and adjust seasoning with salt and pepper.

Meanwhile, bring a small pot of water to a boil, salt the water then drop the asparagus tips in.  Cook until very tender.  DO NOT cover or the asparagus will lose its beautiful green color.  Time will depend on how big the tips are.  When tender drain and shock in a small bowl of ice water to stop cooking.

Serve each cup of soup with a garnish of asparagus tips.

Nutritional Information Per Serving: 1 cup per serving

50 calories, 2.3 grams fat, 2.5 grams fiber, 3.6 grams protein

3 responses to “If In Doubt, Just Leave It Out

  1. Hi I love your site. You are a great cook. Your family is so blest to have you cooking for them. I too have the Vitamix and LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE it. I can make my own peanut butter, almond butter etc in it. I also make soup in it. I found out just use a little onion in the recipe because for some reason it intensifies the flavor. A little goes a long way. By the way where did you ever buy a mesh for the Vitamix. All I used was a strainer and have now had to add cheese cloth to strain it more since the strainer was not small enough. Thanks again for the great site. Hugs rae

  2. Hi Rae! I love my Vitamix! I bought a fine mesh strainer at Bed Bath and Beyond. I believe it’s an OXO Good Grip and the pattern of the mesh is a little different from the regular strainers. It catches all the broken seeds after I’ve blended berries and even the fibers after I’ve blended ginger root to make ginger paste. It was about $23 before I used the 20% off coupon. Be Well! M

  3. I finally made this soup, and I wish I hadn’t waited so long! All I added was Parmigiano Reggiano (you know my weakness). Thanks for the simple, delicious recipe. It’ll be a regular at our house, especially now that it’s asparagus season.