Single Serving

Yesterday was a bitterly cold, blustery day.  After a trip to the gym I pottered around most of the afternoon and because, like most GPers, I’m not always hungry the dinner hour sneaked up on me.  What to eat?  I wanted something warm and comforting with absolutely no effort involved…translation: Hubby was on his own for dinner.  Quickie Salmon Corn Chowder was just the ticket…easy, nutritious and the epitome of a “dump recipe” with literally three ingredients: Trader Joe’s Simply Wild Pacific Salmon (already cooked and available in the refrigerator section), a jar of Earth’s Best Organic Corn and Butternut Squash baby food and fat free milk.  A handful of Ritz-type crackers rounded out the meal.

Oh, and if you’re worried about Hubby, don’t be.  He rustled up enough ingredients to build a hearty and delicious open-faced sandwich that he toasted to perfection under the broiler.

Just a reminder: If you haven’t participated in the one question poll and would like to it will be open for another week.  The front-runner to date is “getting more fruits and veggies”.  Thank you if you’ve already participated.

Quickie Salmon and Corn Chowder

I used cooked wild Pacific salmon but crab meat and a sprinkling of Old Bay seasoning might be a nice version as well…I’m allergic so if you try it please let me know how it is.

Serves 1 but can be multiplied

3 ounces cooked salmon, flaked (used Trader Joe’s Simply Wild Pacific Salmon)

1 4 ounce jar Earth’s Best Organic Corn and Butternut Squash baby food

1/2 cup fat free milk (or milk substitute) I just filled the empty baby food jar

generous sprinkling of Penzey’s Mural of Flavor salt free seasoning

salt and pepper (be generous as baby food is under-seasoned)

pinch Spanish smoked paprika  (optional)

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and simmer until warmed through

Nutritional Information Per Serving:

205 calories, 2 grams fat, 1 gram fiber, 23.5 grams protein

3 responses to “Single Serving

  1. You can eat corn? Yeah, I know all of us GP’er’s are different. I think my reaction is mainly envy. I can’t eat corn & I miss my Mom’s sausage & corn chowder (I can’t eat the sausage either). Your recipe sounds delicious.

  2. Sorry Jo! You went into spam by accident and I just noticed! I can eat baby food corn…its pureed and strained. The Dietitian I met with shortly after diagnosis told me that all baby food is acceptable for people with GP because it’s strained and pureed. You’re right, we’re all different and need to do what makes us feel most comfortable. I will say there is a HUGE difference between real corn and baby food corn-it’s very smooth with no skins.

  3. Thanks! I’ll Look into that. I’ve tried some babyfood veggies. I don’t know why I didn’t think to try corn. I think I was more focussed on getting green stuff into my diet. But at this point I’d love to taste corn again.