I Can’t Eat ‘Em…But I Can Drink ‘Em!

I promised periodic juicing updates and since a picture speaks a thousand words…strawberries, kiwi, grapefruit, pineapple, spinach, watercress, kale, parsley, beet and beet greens!  How healthy does that look?  And that’s what I’ve been drinking this week.  This assortment of pictured fruit and veggies produced a 16 ounce glass of ruby red juice.  Watercress, the newest addition to my juicing. This semi-aquatic herb has a distinctive peppery flavor…think peppery like arugula.  Watercress is considered an anticancer super food and is a rich source of antioxidants, vitamin C, beta-carotene, folic acid, potassium, calcium, phosphorus, iron and iodine.  In fact, according to my research, watercress contains more calcium than milk and more iron than spinach and offers moderate amounts of vitamins B1 and B2.  The strawberries were a bit of a splurge but paired nicely with the peppery bite of the watercress.  I held them up to my face, inhaled deeply and took in all their sweet, sunny strawberry essence before dropping them into the juicer!

I look forward to my glass of “fresh” and in all honesty some combinations are better than others.  My rule of thumb is that if it would taste good as a salad it will probably create a tasty juice.  If you are new to juicing start out slowly until you know if it agrees with you.  Carrots are sweet and apples are crisp and are the base for many people’s juicing.  Unfortunately, I’m allergic but that doesn’t mean they’re not an option for anyone who can eat them.   Strain your juice through a mesh sieve if you are concerned about any residual fiber.  As always…Eat Well!  Be Well!  Enjoy!

4 responses to “I Can’t Eat ‘Em…But I Can Drink ‘Em!

  1. This post is very intriguing to me as I am very interested in starting to juice. What type of juicer do you recommend?

    Thanks for your insight and recommendations!

  2. Welcome Dottie! I purchased a Jack LaLane juicer from Walmart.com (it came with more “extras” than the model for the same price in store and shipping was free). At the time I had no idea if juicing would be for me and didn’t want to spend a small fortune. It’s the only juicer I’ve ever owned and I’m happy with it. It does need to be cleaned right after juicing but really only takes a few minutes. I save my produce bags and use them to line the bin that collects the waste so there is one less part to wash. The only thing that took a little time was learning how to alternate soft and hard items and bunching the greens to maximize the juice. The fiber in the collection bin should be on the dry side. My combinations change depending on what’s in season and looks fresh at the market-the only exceptions: I always put in a spear of fresh pineapple (with the core) and beet root. If you have any questions don’t hesitate to ask.

  3. I have been drinking V-Fusion drinks for the past 6 months. I’ve been able to tolerate them and they provide a helping of fruit and a helping of vegetable with each 8 ounce glass. This has really been a god send.

  4. Hi Jessica. Good to hear you’ve found a tolerable way to get some fruits and veggies in! Do you have a favorite flavor? Thanks for the tip. Be Well! Mary