Jammy Goodness

I have never met a jam, chutney, curd or marmalade that I didn’t like so imagine my disappointment when I learned that most traditional jams, chutneys, curds and marmalades are not considered GP-friendly.  I don’t like grape jelly or any jelly for that matter but have since settled for seedless strawberry, raspberry and blackberry jam because the alternative is no jam.  The following recipe I’ve named Jammy-filled Muffins is my twist on the basic P.D.Q. muffin recipe in my King Arthur Flour Cookbook.  Although they contain no butter, these muffins rise into individual, golden, brioche-like treats that hide a sweet jammy surprise.  I’m partial to raspberry so I filled mine with Smuckers Seedless Red Raspberry Jam.  They’re a sweet, Gastroparesis-friendly treat everyone will enjoy.

Jammy-filled Muffin

Mmmm! Look at all that jammy goodness!

Jammy-filled Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

2 cups flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 cup fat free milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

zest of 1 lemon (grate on a rasp/microplane or leave out if concerned)

2 eggs

6 tablespoons seedless raspberry jam

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.  Line a 12 cup muffin plaque with papers.  Mix dry ingredients (a wire whisk works well for this) in a bowl.  In a separate bowl (or measuring cup) beat together wet ingredients and lemon zest until they are light.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and blend with a fork for about 20 second or so.  Do not over mix.  Its okay if there are some lumps.  Fill muffin papers about half full with batter.  Place a half tablespoon of jam in the center of each.  Fill with remaining batter.

As soon as the muffins are in the oven reduce the temperature to 400 degrees.  Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until muffins are golden brown.

Nutritional Information Per Serving:

137 calories, 1.1 grams fat, 0.6 grams fiber, 3.9 grams protein

10 responses to “Jammy Goodness

  1. Pictures! Go, Mary! That muffin looks amazing — I’ll definitely add these to my breakfast lineup.

  2. I did it all myself…I’m so proud!

  3. Okay, my mouth literally fell open when I looked at this, lol!!! I don’t cook much, but I may just have to see if I can get this to work with a gluten free baking mix!

  4. I told you there were surprises coming…just didn’t think it would take this long! Don’t see why this wouldn’t work with a gluten free mix if you’re able to find one that suits you. The vanilla and lemon zest really add to the berry flavor of the jam so be sure to add them if you’re able.

  5. Well, I’ve printed it and will try. The milk doesn’t do anything special does it, lol? I’ll have to substitute in almond or rice milk. Oh, and buy a zester, lol.

  6. I think almond or rice milk will be fine. Did you find a good gluten free mix? BTW a rasp or microplane produces whispier pieces of zest than a zester. Baking muffins…who knows what’s next…..Enjoy, Mary

  7. There is a new gluten-free flour that I might try…one of my co-workers is also gluten-free…she bakes a LOT and says it’s very good, so I might start there. 🙂

  8. finally a use for all that jam in my cupboard! I know what we are having for bfast on sunday morning

  9. I don’t have experience with gluten free baking so would love to hear how you make them and how they turn out.

  10. I see a lot of Jammy-filled muffins in your future! BTW, for a richer, not so GP-friendly version add a few tablespoons of melted butter to the batter.