Cozy Afternoon

It’s been cold and snowy here and rather than staying in cozy hibernation I’ve done more shoveling than I’d like.  We’re simply running out of places to put it!  Gastroparesis and shoveling are not compatible companions and I have a specific window between my last meal and doing anything that requires bending over…this “sweet spot” is about 3 hours.  So in anticipation of the morning’s snow moving and removal I used my pre-sweet spot time to bake up a batch of Low Fat Cinnamon Buns from a recipe I’ve had in reserve…because as you know, I’m oh so enamored with low fat, GP-friendly baking.

These little gems are not the sticky, gooey Cinnabons from the mall they’re more like crumbly glazed cinnamon bun cookies and were just right apre-shovel with a steaming cup of Harney & Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice Tea sweetened with a spoonful of local honey.  For those GPers who can tolerate a cup of tea the Harney & Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice is a delicious blend of black tea, three types of cinnamon, orange peel and sweet cloves.  I usually keep my tea and coffee unsweetened but the honey really makes the cinnamon, orange and spice sing.  Stir with a cinnamon stick for extra zing!

During my recent internet travels I learned a few interesting facts about cinnamon and honey.  Along with numerous other health benefits, cinnamon and honey, when consumed together, help improve digestion by removing gas from the stomach and intestines and soothing stomach aches and indigestion.  A spoonful of sugar may help the medicine go down but in my experience a spoonful of honey soothes the tummy (and a cough and a sore throat too).

Too much of a good thing is usually too much…except for glaze!  I’m a complete nut for glaze and plan on doubling the glaze portion of the recipe the next time around.  They are delicious as written.  I’ll let you decide about the glaze on your own.

Helpful Hint: Portioning is easier when baking with a ruler.  An inexpensive plastic or metal ruler that can be washed between uses takes the guess work out of making the 10″x6″ rectangle as directed below and keeps the slices for each mini bun a uniform size.

Low Fat Mini Cinnamon Buns

These are not the ooey-gooey Cinnabons at the mall…they’re crumbly and cookie-like and go nicely with a warm cup of tea with honey.  If you’re a nut for glaze like I am double the glaze portion of the recipe and spoon with abandon!  Makes 24 – Serves 8 with 3 mini cinnamon buns each.

3 tablespoons sugar, divided into 2 tablespoons and 1 tablespoon

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 egg

1/4 cup milk, divided into 3 tablespoons and 1 tablespoon

1 1/4 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons cold butter, cut into pieces

4 tablespoons confectioner’s sugar

1-1 1/2 teaspoons water

1/4 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray a 24 cup mini muffin plaque with canola spray.  Mix together 2 tablespoons sugar and the cinnamon.  Set aside.  In another bowl mix together egg and 3 tablespoons of milk.  Set aside.  Mix together flour, remaining sugar, baking powder, salt and butter.  Blend with your fingers, pastry cutter or food processor (my favorite method) until mixture resembles coarse meal.  Add milk mixture (while food processor is running) and mix until just combined.  Pour out onto a floured surface and roll dough out into a 10″x6″ rectangle about 1/2″ thick.  Brush with some of the remaining milk and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.  Roll to form a 6″ log and slice into 24 pieces.  Place one piece in each muffin cup (you will need to squeeze and crimp each slice to fit).  Bake for 13-15 minutes.  Meanwhile, stir together confectioner’s sugar, water and vanilla until smooth.  Drizzle over warm buns.

Nutritional Information Per Serving:

8 Servings of 3 mini cinnamon buns

142 calories, 3.7 grams fat, 0.7 grams fiber, 3.1 grams protein

(each Low Fat Mini Cinnamon Bun: 47 calories, 0.9 grams fat, 0.2 grams fiber, 1 gram protein)

7 responses to “Cozy Afternoon

  1. Ummm, sounds good. I had to smile at the comment about bending forward…just last week I had two bad days where I was bending forward to get something out of my file drawer, and really felt like I might throw up. The things we have to be mindful of, lol…

  2. Along with not liking to bend over…no more Spanx or control top anything thank you! They make me feel like I’m going to suffocate!

  3. I’m having that feeling right now as a matter of fact, lol. I can’t wait to get home to get into my sweats!

  4. Oh, my. Crumbly cinnamon roll cookies?! I will most certainly be giving this recipe a try!

    P.S. I love the ruler tip! Portion size is absolutely one of the keys to successfully managing gastroparesis symptoms.

  5. Thanks Crystal! It was finding your site that first gave me hope when I was newly diagnosed that I could have a good life with GP. I’m off to cook up another post!

  6. These sound completely yummy and perfect for a cold winter’s day! Thank you for posting the recipe!

  7. Luckily, I was able to enjoy a few with a cup of tea before Hubby came in from shoveling and inhaled them all!