Are You Feeling Left Out This Holiday Season?

Food plays such an enormous part of holiday celebrations.  Whether it’s Grandma’s sugar cookies, the well-meaning festive food gift from friends or the potluck luncheon at work we are surrounded by goodies this time of year. The onslaught of  holiday treats is difficult for even the most “normal” digestive system to deal with.  For us GPer’s it’s temptation and the aftermath of an “indiscretion” isn’t just mild indigestion or a few extra holiday pounds it can be some serious digestive upset…even a full-blown flare.

You all know my mantra: “Nothing tastes as good as being well feels!” and I sincerely believe this.  Food has been the center of my Universe for most of my life.  This is my first holiday season with GP and I’ve spent a great deal of time in my “bubble” as I like to call it..and I’m eating well and enjoying.  Plus, life inside my own little “GP bubble” is easy.  I don’t feel “freakish” or deprived or different in any way but life in “the bubble” isn’t very realistic…in fact it can be very limiting.  Between GP and food allergies (because of the carrots, apples and soy I can’t even buy any of the prepared veggie/fruit/protein juices on the market), I’ve been cooking or preparing all my own meals and snacks, avoiding parties and get togethers and rarely eating out.  Although it’s easy, the “GP bubble” isn’t the best long-term strategy for living the rest of my life with a chronic digestive disorder.

My biggest lesson this holiday season has been separating food from fun…in other words it’s possible to have fun without focusing on food.  I’ve enjoyed decorating my wreathes, shopping for the children in my life, watching the amaryllis Hubby gave me grow, traveling around my neighborhood of antique houses at night enjoying all the lights and decorations and have a “Girls Night Out” to look forward to at new local sewing business this week.  I’ll be brushing up on my sewing skills by making infinity scarves.

How are you filling the gap this season?  What strategies have you employed to enjoy the holidays without focusing on food?

5 responses to “Are You Feeling Left Out This Holiday Season?

  1. You know, I feel like I’m truly blessed. I don’t really feel left out at all. My mother really tries to make sure I always have something I can eat at any family gathering and sometimes I just bring something equally great which I CAN eat. My co-workers are really mindful as well, and even my employers try to accomodate.

    I also have a lot of food allergies/sentitivities/intolerances, and both myself and my friends have learned to separate the fun from the food. I go and eat what I can or what I bring and I’ve found that I can still have a great time with friends and family and food isn’t really an issue for me or for them, and most of the time no one comments or notices what I eat, lol.

    One really good thing from all of this…no one tries to push food on me anymore, lol. 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing Donna, it sounds like you’ve developed a very well-adjusted view of food, fun and the holidays. Have a very Merry Christmas and thank you for all your support with the blog…I always enjoy and appreciate your input. Be well! Mary

  3. I have mild GP, and sometimes I just cave. Last night I went to a holiday reception on an Ensure-filled stomach and had the equivalent of one sugar cookie and some water. I was doing well. Then… afterward, we went out to Donatos and got pizza. I had about two full slices of pepperoni and mushroom pizza. I chewed thoroughly and ate slowly, and I stopped as soon as my tummy felt sick. I stayed upright for an hour afterward. Still, though, I awoke this morning feeling a bit bloated and with some heartburn. I know I didn’t act so smart, but I’m learning exactly where my limits are. Thank god I can tolerate fats pretty well! I miss salad really badly, though. Just a cup of lettuce and a couple slices of tomato, and I’m miserable for the rest of the day.

  4. Welcome Emily! I know what you mean…what I wouldn’t give for a bowl of fresh berries or a giant salad!

  5. Oh, man! Yes. I never thought I’d miss salads so much! Whenever we go out to eat, I always eat one piece of lettuce, a piece of tomato, a couple of croutons, and an olive. 😀