Tasty Find! Trader Joe’s Light Egg Nog

No holiday season feels complete without a little cup of egg nog (with “cheer” or without).  I’m one of those GPers who can’t tolerate whole fat dairy and most commercial egg nogs start at four grams of fat for a half cup serving and go all the way up to 10 grams for the luxurious full fat versions.  I’ve been pining for a small egg nog since Thanksgiving and downright fantasizing about a Starbuck’s egg nog latte.  I had given up my search at four grams of fat for a half cup serving so you can imagine my delight when I picked up a carton of Trader Joe’s Light Egg Nog!  A half cup serving comes in at 110 calories, 1 gram of fat, 0 grams of fiber and 5 grams of protein…yes, you read that correctly…1 gram of fat!  Just a little tidbit about fat: fat coats the palate and creates the pleasant “mouth feel” of super premium ice cream, full fat dairy and baked goods made with butter.  It also dulls flavor so when it’s removed low fat products become less than luxurious and very sweet.  This is true for the Trader Joe’s Light Egg Nog but I’ve chosen to overlook its shortcomings and focus on its possibilities…

Trader Joe’s Light Egg Nog Latte aka DIY Holiday Egg Nog Latte

Serves one but can be multiplied

1/2 cup light egg nog

1 cup (or so) hot coffee

vanilla sugar (optional)

Fat free ReddiWip (optional)

freshly grated nutmeg (optional)

Brew coffee.  Microwave egg nog until hot.  Froth with stick blender (or cover container and shake vigouously….the “poor man’s milk frother”…open carefully).  Blend coffee with hot, frothed egg nog.  Sweeten with vanilla sugar or as desired and top with optional Fat free ReddiWip and a fresh grating of nutmeg.  Sing Christmas carols at the top of your lungs…just kidding-it’s okay to be quietly festive while enjoying your egg nog latte.

Not all GPers can tolerate coffee.  Generally, I limit myself to one cup in the morning after my smoothie but made an exception for the latte.  Coffee has a tendency to kill my appetite and there are days when I can feel it sitting in my tummy.  If this is the case and you’re not sure what to do with the remaining seven servings left in the quart may I suggest adding it to pancake batter, french toast or bread pudding custard or baking a pumpkin egg nog flan.

Comments are closed.