Cookies! Cookies! Cookies!

My favorite cookie tin originally housed rich, French butter biscuits from Brittany (where the butter contains extra milk fat!) and it was feeling very empty, lonely and forgotten.  In case you haven’t noticed I haven’t exactly been shy about sharing my frustration with low fat baking.  Not one to give up easily, I thought I’d give it another try.  I was so hopeful, I even purchased a bag of Nestle’s Semisweet Chocolate Mini morsels the last time I was marketing…and I’m glad I did.  These Chocolate Chip Banana Cookies are like cakey, little baby chocolate chip banana muffin tops!  Thanks to the Taste of Home’s website only slight adaptation was needed to make it a Gastroparesis-friendly recipe.

I bake with parchment paper…it guarantees there will be no sticking and no clean up.  No spatula is needed-just carefully pull each sheet of baked cookies onto an awaiting wire rack for cooling.  Once cool, cookies will lift off the parchment easily.  And a word about portioning: this recipe makes 36 cookies so to ensure the correct portioning I placed four sheets of parchment out on the counter and dropped the dough until I had 36 relatively uniform servings before baking. Remember to start each sheet of cookies with a cooled sheet pan in order to get the best results.

Chocolate Chip Banana Cookies

Makes 3 dozen

1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled

2 egg whites

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup mashed ripe banana

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1 cup flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup Nestle semisweet chocolate mini morsels

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix first 5 ingredients (butter through sugar) until well combined.  In separate bowl mix remaining ingredients.  Combine liquid ingredients with the dry.  Drop by scant tablespoon measures 2 inches apart onto parchment paper lined baking sheets*.  Bake 11-13 minutes or until cookies are slightly browned around the edges.  Remove parchment sheet to a wire rack to cool.  Remove cookies from parchment.  Store in your favorite wax paper lined tin.

*I measured out all 36 on 4 sheets of parchment paper before baking to ensure good “portioning”.

Nutritional Information Per Serving:

1 cookie per serving

50 Calories, 2.2 grams Fat, 0.4 grams Fiber, 0.8 grams Protein

One response to “Cookies! Cookies! Cookies!

  1. Love this recipe.. nice post