Egg and Dairy-free Baking

There are some exciting new improvements here at G&G!  I’ve entered the present century and started to run my recipes through a recipe analyzer for more exact information regarding fat and fiber content.  Not only does it allow me to be more creative but gives us all a little more confidence as far as GP-friendly goes.  I’ve also added a “print” feature at the bottom of each post so along with being able to email each post you’ll be able to print out a copy too!  How’s that for 20th century.  Maybe, if I’m able to figure out how to load photos to the blog there might be pictures in the future!  What can I say I’m a baby steps kinda gal.

The following recipe for Egg and Dairy-free, GP-friendly Chocolate Loaf Cake is and adaptation of a recipe given to me by a family friend.  I’ve always suspected that it’s a Depression Era recipe due to it’s lack of butter and eggs.  The original recipe uses 1/3 cup oil.  I’ve reduced it to two tablespoons and augmented with one 2.5 ounce container of baby food prunes.  According to my RD all baby food fruits and veggies are allowed on the GP diet.  The addition of baby food prunes adds 2 grams of fiber to the entire cake.  I can’t eat apples and did not use apple sauce for that reason.  Anyone with a gluten intolerance might be able to substitute for the flour resulting in an egg, dairy and gluten free cake.  Dress it up or down this modest little loaf cake is a quick and easy way to get a chocolate fix.  I enjoyed my little slice of yum with a small scoop of raspberry sorbet and a rosette of fat free RediWip.

Helpful Hint: Portioning is very important.  One slice has only 3.3 grams of fat and 1.2 grams of fiber but two or three slices can add up fast.  Slice your cake into 10 servings (I’ve actually divided mine into 12 by measuring carefully) before enjoying the first slice.  I find it’s easier to stay “honest” that way.  Wrap remaining sliced cake in plastic wrap.  Enjoy!

Egg and Dairy-free GP-friendly Chocolate Loaf Cake

Makes 10 servings

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon white vinegar

2 tablespoons canola oil

1 2.5 ounce container baby food prunes (used Gerber 1st Foods)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Sift together dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl combine vinegar, oil, prunes and vanilla.  When water comes to a boil combine wet ingredients and boiling water.  Stir to combine then stir into dry ingredients.  Pour into an ungreased, nonstick 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 loaf pan.  Bake 35 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the center come out clean.  Cool for 5 minutes before running a knife around the edges and removing to a rack to cool.

Nutritional Information Per Serving:

Based on 10 slices

Calories: 179, Fat: 3.3 grams, Fiber: 1.2 grams, Protein: 2.3 grams

Comments are closed.