Wonder Twin Powers Activate…

Form of… a rich chocolatey snack AND a serious serving of protein!  Now that I’ve completely dated myself…  I was in a bit of a quandary the other day.  The only hair appointment available was for 12:30…that’s just about lunch time.   Because beauty and vanity are time consuming and a color, cut and blow out usually take a good two hours I knew a “quality” snack would be necessary to get me to an early dinner.  Usually I pack my lunch box when I’m going to be out and about but frankly I really didn’t want to talk about my digestive disorder at the salon.  I’m always on the lookout for easy and tasty ways to get my protein in.  Anyone with GP can appreciate smaller, easy to consume portions that pack a nutritional punch.  The following Gastroparesis-friendly recipe for Chocolate Almond Protein Power Pudding is thick and creamy, puts the Jello pudding snack cups in the dairy case to shame and adheres to my personal philosophy of not consuming more that a quarter of a cup of cottage cheese a day.  I haven’t tried any other versions yet but imagine butterscotch with vanilla whey protein power might be a nice combination or vanilla pudding and whey protein powder with some creative use of extracts might be nice.  Vanilla pudding, vanilla whey protein powder and a generous scoop of pumpkin butter anyone?  I’ll stay on the protein power pudding case!

Chocolate Almond Protein Power Pudding

serves 2 but can be doubled

1/2 cup fat free cottage cheese

1/2 cup fat free milk

1/2 scoop chocolate whey protein powder

1/2  3.9 ounce box chocolate instant pudding (serves 4)

1/4-1/2 teaspoon almond extract (1/2 teaspoon will result in an amaretto flavor)

Fat free RediWip or Cool Whip (optional)

Cocoa powder (optional)

Puree cottage cheese until smooth.  Whisk in remaining ingredients.  Divide into two servings and refrigerate until ready to enjoy.  Garnish with optional whipped topping and spoonful of cocoa powder sifted through a small mesh sieve.

Per serving (not including whipped topping and cocoa powder): 185 calories, 12.75 grams protein, 0 grams fat, 0 grams fiber…1,ooo,ooo grams delicious!

5 responses to “Wonder Twin Powers Activate…

  1. sounds completely yummy!! Thought I was the only one who remembered the wonder twins!!!

  2. I thought you’d appreciate the reference. Thanks for the recipe link from Waitrose…definitely on my list!

  3. Okay, this is timely, lol. I’ve been thinking about trying pudding and adding some protein powder. I’ll have to modify quite a bit, but I should be able to come up with something. My base will have to be coconut milk and my protein will have to be egg white protein powder, but you’ve given me hope it will turn out well. 🙂

  4. You’d have to check and see if the instant pudding was gluten/dairy free-I think it is…but check to be sure. I used the full sugar version just because some people have issues with artificial sweeteners. Just curious, are you able to use unsweetened almond milk? The “Power Pudding” was an easy way to get some protein and the portion was small-always good for us GPers. Who doesn’t like pudding? Be well!

  5. The pudding mix does have some dairy, but I don’t think it’s the first ingredient, so as long as I don’t eat too much of it I’d be okay. I tend to have trouble with artificial sweeteners as well. Stevia seems to be okay for the moment so I use that for most things in combination with real sugar…so I’m getting less real sugar than I would and I’m not using so much Stevia.

    I haven’t tried unsweetened almond milk…I’ll look for it.