Juicy News

I have some juicy news…I’ve added a seasonal favorite to my daily juicing.  Cranberries!  Very delicious when accompanied by half of a navel orange.  Fresh cranberries are only available in November and December so I plan on grabbing a bag each week until they’re gone.  Cranberries, especially when consumed raw, are loaded with several antioxidants and possess an antibacterial quality…great for cold and flu season.  Oranges are a rich source of antioxidants as well as bioflavanoids.  The white pith of the orange is chock full of benefits so I try to leave as much pith along with the “navel” when preparing an orange for the juicer.  The farm stand is open for the next two weeks and colder weather makes for great root veggies and greens.  Washed and dried, then wrapped in paper towels or linen tea towels and stored in clean plastic bags, fresh greens will stay viable for a week and are ready to juice when you are.

During my internet travels I came across a supplement made completely from berries.  FruitFast Mixed Berry Liquid Fruit Supplement is made from red raspberry, concord grape and wild blueberry juice concentrate, black raspberries, red raspberries, wild blueberries and strawberries (including skins and pulp).  One teaspoon delivers 200mg of Anthocyanins (potent antioxidants)…the amount in approximately one cup of  fresh berries.  Each bottle contains 60 servings at approximately $18 per bottle…much cheaper than purchasing berries out of season.  Warning for those who are very sensitive to fiber: each teaspoon contains 2 grams of fiber.

Unlike the “ginger debaucle” of the last juicing update cranberries and FruitFast have proven tasty and digestible.  Please keep in mind that canberries (as well as oranges) are considered highly acidic so start out small (1/4 cup cranberries with 1/4 -1/2 orange) in the beginning until you’re sure they agree with you.

I really look forward to my tall glass of “fresh” each day.  This has been your “juicy update”…Eat well!  Be well!  Enjoy!

My juicing recipe as of late is as follow:

1/2 cup raw cranberries

1/2 medium orange with as much white pith and navel left as possible

1 spear of pineapple with core

Greens: spinach, kale, dandelion, parsley, beet greens

1/2 small to medium beet root

1 teaspoon Barlean’s Fresh Catch orange flavored fish oil (available at health food stores or online at http://www.barleans.com)

1 teaspoon FruitFast Mixed Berry Liquid Fruit Supplement (available online at http://www.fruitfast.com)

7 responses to “Juicy News

  1. Okay, you’re making me want to revive my desire to get a juicer, lol! I have no imagination when it comes to stuff like that! This sounds great!

  2. I was hesitant as first because you do need to take it apart and clean it right after juicing. I didn’t spend a lot on a juicer (ordered a Jack LaLane from walmart.com) just in case it wasn’t for me but now I’m hooked! I overcame my reluctance to clean it because the thought of a life without “fresh” seemed too dismal. I can’t eat apples or carrots (both sweet juices) but offset the greens with other fruits and roots. It has been the best thing I’ve done for myself.

  3. Yeah, the cleaning thing is always a turn-off for me. I tend to use easier to use appliances like the Magic Bullet or Ninja instead of my blender even though the blender does a better job, but the others are easier to clean, lol. Still, juicing has intrigued me for a couple of years now and I am still in need of a way to get some veggies in, lol.

  4. I keep meaning to mention…if you save plastic produce bags and line the collection bin of the juicer (where it spits the fiber out) there is one less thing to clean. Just grab the bag and compost it or throw it away.

  5. I ordered a juicer, lol! 😀

  6. Good for you! Use it in good health. You’ll have to share your juicing combos with us. Go slowly at first so your system can get used to the fruits and veggies again.

  7. I tried some pumpkin muffins this week (GP-friendly) and I think I over did it, lol. I’ll definitely start slow with the juicing!