Picky Pumpkin Pickers are Prone to Pick the Plumpest Pumpkins!

I dare you to say that three times fast!  Halloween is just days away and all the pumpkins on all the doorsteps have given me a taste for something creamy, spicy and pumpkin-y.  One of my favorite places for jams and preserves has always been Stonewall Kitchens.  Their butters are particularly good…including the pumpkin butter.  I got to thinking I must have all the ingredients in the house why not just make some.  The following recipe for Maple Pumpkin Butter is a compilation of several recipes I found on the internet.  It’s dark, spicy and satisfying…without being overly sweet.  Not only do cinnamon, allspice, ginger, cloves and nutmeg taste great they’re all supposedly good immune system enhancers as well as sources of antioxidants.  Pumpkin is a “super food” high in Vitamins C and E, magnesium, potassium and zinc and several varieties of carotenoids (antioxidants).  Tasty and good for you!

The following recipe for Peach and Pumpkin Butter Tartine came to me while I was trying to use up some fat-free cottage cheese.  Cottage cheese is a great source of GP-friendly protein and “goes down easy” but I find it can cause (whisper voice here) constipation if enjoyed too often or in too big a serving so I try to limit my servings to no more than 1/4 cup per day…that’s still over 6 grams of protein.  With the toaster waffle this makes a nice mini-meal which provides almost 9 grams of protein.  Peaches and spiced pumpkin are surprisingly nice together.  By the way, a tartine is just a glamorous French name for an open-faced sandwich.

Maple Pumpkin Butter

Makes approximately 1 pint

1 15 ounce can pumpkin puree

1/4 cup lightly packed dark brown sugar

2 tablespoons maple syrup (I use Grade B)

1/4 cup water

1/2 teaspoon each: cinnamon and allspice

1/4 teaspoon each: ginger, cloves and nutmeg

Whisk all ingredients in a heavy saucepan until well combined.  Bring to a boil and cook over medium high heat, stirring frequently until thickened-approximately 15 minutes.  Cool slightly and spoon into a clean pint jar.  Refrigerate for up to 3 months.

Peach and Pumpkin Butter Tartine

Makes 1 serving but can be multiplied

1 low-fat toaster waffle

a smear of Maple Pumpkin Butter

1/4 cup fat-free cottage cheese

canned peach slices, drained

Toast waffle and spread with a smear of maple pumpkin butter.  Top with cottage cheese and sliced peaches.

7 responses to “Picky Pumpkin Pickers are Prone to Pick the Plumpest Pumpkins!

  1. I know what to do with sam’s pumpkin now!! The pumpkin butter sounds so yummy. Thank you for posting all these fantastic recipes, you always inspire me!

  2. And thank you for your constant friendship and support.

  3. So, how many pumpkins would Peter pick if Peter only picked plump ones?

  4. Perhaps that would be a peck of plump pumpkins perchance?

  5. I’m going to try this one for sure!!! Thanks!

  6. Enjoy! BTW, I stirred a spoonful of the Pumpkin butter into my vanilla Activia and pear baby food snack yesterday and it was delicious!

  7. my pumpkin is all roasted and pureed and ready to make pumpkin butter! Yum!