Lustful Thoughts

It’s time for a confession…I’ve been having lustful thoughts.  The object of my lust: Nutella.  Spreadable chocolate and hazelnuts what could be more scrumptious!  February 5, 2011 is World Nutella Day and frankly I couldn’t wait that long.  Like some people with GP I’m able to tolerate almond butter a tablespoon at a time (8 grams fat, 2 grams fiber) so I did a little label sleuthing and to my delight a tablespoon of Nutella has 5.5 grams fat and less than 1 gram fiber.  Nutella isn’t a substitute for the nutrition in almond butter but it’s nice to have on hand for the occasional treat.

I found inspiration from a recipe for an English version of Pear Chocolate Betty posted on http://www.Telegraph.co.uk.  I thought chocolate and hazelnuts would pair well with pears and the following recipe for Pear Brown Betty with Warm Nutella Sauce was born.  I chose to use canned pears for two reasons: first, they are already peeled and poached and second, I love pears and find the thought of having a bowl of beautiful, golden ripe Bartlet  pears in the kitchen that can’t be eaten out of hand or with a few slivers of aged sharp cheddar cheese a little depressing.  Still adapting.

If you do not feel comfortable with Nutella the Pear Brown Betty can be enjoyed as is with a little cinnamon (1 teaspoon) added to the crumb mixture and a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt.

We enjoyed an easily digestible dinner of Pan Seared Scallops (posted 10/5/10) with mashed potatoes before diving into dessert.

Pear Brown Betty with Warm Nutella Sauce

Serves 4

2 15 ounce cans pear halves in juice (reserve juice)

14 lowfat Nilla vanilla wafers, pulverized into crumbs in a miniprep

2 tablespoons light brown sugar, packed

1/3 cup reserved pear juice

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray a shallow baking dish.  Slice pears approximately 1/4″ thick.  Mix Nilla wafer crumbs and light brown sugar.  Layer half the sliced pears on the bottom of the baking dish and cover with half the crumb mixture.  Layer with remaining pear slices and cover with remaining crumb mixture.  Pour 1/3 cup reserved pear juice around the sides.  Spray the top lightly with cooking spray. Bake 30 minutes until top is golden and juices are bubbling.  Serve with Warm Nutella Sauce.

Warm Nutella Sauce

4 Servings

1/4 level cup Nutella

2 1/2  tablespoons reserved pear juice

(an individual serving: 1 level tablespoon Nutella and 2 teaspoons reserved pear juice)

Carefully warm Nutella and pear juice in a small bowl in the microwave.  Stir. Drizzle over servings of warm Pear Brown Betty.

5 responses to “Lustful Thoughts

  1. yum, yum, yum! I know what I am making for dessert on sunday!

  2. You truly have a gift for writing… I LOVE just reading your stuff, lol. I may actually pick up some Nutella. 🙂

  3. Thanks Donna. I truly appreciate your comments. If there’s anything you or anyone else would like to see in future posts just let me know. Be well!

  4. I love Nutella :0) Thanks for making this site and providing us GP’ers with delicious recipes!

  5. You’re very welcome. Thanks for checking out the blog. I’ll keep on posting!