Out with the Fried! In with the Baked!

I love fried chicken.  My favorite restaurant meal as a child was real fried chicken and blueberry pie…YUM!  Needless to say fried anything isn’t even remotely GP friendly.  I had some buttermilk left over from the Raspberry Filled Chocolate Layer Cake (see post from 9/16/10).  Because it’s impossible to buy just a small carton I used some in mashed potatoes then decided to use up some more with boneless skinless chicken breasts.  The acid in buttermilk breaks down and tenderizes the chicken so it’s tender and moist enough to cut with a fork…which in turn makes it easier to chew thoroughly.  Be careful with the crumbs as a little bit go a long way and they can get a little glumpy if the coating is too thick.  As a variation you can use some reserved chicken tenders or cut the chicken breast into fingers before marinating and coating.  Keep an eye on them as the cooking time may be a little shorter.  I served mashed sweet potatoes with the chicken.

Buttermilk “Fried” Chicken

Serves 2 but can be easily doubled

2 Boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/2 cup low fat buttermilk

Salt-free seasoning (I like Mural of Flavor available @ http://www.penzeys.com)

1/2 cup plain bread crumbs or cracker crumbs (I’ve used the Ritz-type from Whole Foods before.)

Salt to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Cut chicken breasts into 2 by placing a palm on top of each and slicing horizontally.  Marinate cutlets in buttermilk and seasoning   (use as much or as little seasoning as you can tolerate) for at least 30 minutes.  Meanwhile, season bread crumbs with a little salt (cracker crumbs may not need salt).  Dredge each piece of chicken in crumbs and coat very lightly.  (I have just sprinkled a little on top in the past.)  Place on a sprayed sheet pan and spray each cutlet lightly.  Bake 10-12 minute or until cutlet no longer yields when pressed with a finger.

4 responses to “Out with the Fried! In with the Baked!

  1. Just wondering but can i use powdered Butermilk powder mix that I make into a liquid form instead of real buttermilk. Since it comes only in quart size and not pint the real stuff would only go bad so I use the powder form.

  2. I’ve never used powdered buttermilk but I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. Would love to hear how it turns out.

  3. I wonder how Panko crumbs would be instead of the crackers?

  4. I’m just partial to crackers…you can use panko or even cornflakes it you like. Each will just be a little different.