Can’t Forget Where I’ve Come From…

I recently became a member of an International Gastroparesis Yahoo group and reading people’s posts has reminded me of where I’ve come from.  I had Botox injections in May and fingers crossed they are still working and I’m able to enjoy certain solids.  Not long ago I was like some of my fellow posters living on liquids and purees.  As I’ve mentioned before chicken has been the “only meat so far”.  I thought I’d share a recipe for moist roast chicken breast.  According to an article on http://www.drgourmet.com the fat content is negligible when roasting chicken with the skin and without.  Bone in, skin on chicken just plain tastes better and is moister.  No matter how appealing the chicken skin looks it is NOT GP friendly so discard it or in my case it will just disappear after Hubby has been in the kitchen. Whether you puree it or just buzz it up in the mini prep nobody wants to eat saw dust chicken.  This recipe is inspired by an episode of Barefoot Contessa.  Once roasted, the chicken is suitable for pureeing, chopping or using in any recipe.

Moist Roast Chicken Breast

Bone in/skin on chicken breasts

Seasoning of your choice…or none if it is intolerable

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Wash and dry chicken.  Place breasts on a rimmed sheet pan leaving space between each piece.  Season, if desired.  Roast chicken for approximately 30-40 minutes depending on size.  An instant read thermometer should read 170 degrees.

Comments are closed.