Making the Most of Baby Food

I think it’s important to acknowledge a GP fact: baby food is a smart option for getting in some fruits and veggies especially on days where purees are necessary.  According to the information I received during my visit with a Registered Dietitian (something every GP patient should consider) all baby food fruits and veggies are allowed.  Do be careful as some 3.5 ounce jars contain as much as 3 grams of fiber.  Personally, I use them as a sneaky way to get fiber into my diet.  Adding baby food peaches or pears to my daily Activia vanilla yogurt provides a serving of fruit and thins down the yogurt and makes it more liquid-like.  My favorite product is an organic pear and raspberry baby food made by Earth’s Best.  Gerber second foods also makes an organic pear and wild blueberry.  Just as I plan to revisit juicing from time to time I plan on revisiting “Making the Most of Baby Food”.    Let’s face it, baby food veggies are not exactly delicious but with a little doctoring they can provide an easy way to get some veggies in.  I had a few packages of sweet potatoes in the pantry about to approach their use by date.  They inspired this recipe for a smooth as silk bisque perfect for the crisp autumn days ahead and the best part is…no pureeing necessary!

Baby Food Sweet Potato Bisque

Makes 2 Cups

3/4 cup low sodium chicken stock

4 3.5 ounce containers baby food sweet potato (I used Gerber 2nd foods)

1 clove garlic- crushed

2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger pressed through a small sieve

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon dried thyme (ground to a powder if necessary)

1/2 teaspoon maple syrup

pinch cinnamon

pinch cloves

salt and pepper to taste (remember:baby food has no salt and you’ve used low sodium chicken stock)

fat free half and half (optional)

Bring chicken stock to a boil in a saucepan.  Add remaining ingredients.  Simmer until flavorful (approximately 15 minutes).  Remove garlic clove before serving.  Enrich with a splash of fat free half and half if desired.

Comments are closed.