Let Them Eat Cake!

This summer I celebrated a birthday…with no cake.  I’m still feeling my way through a life with GP and the trepidation I assume we all feel when it comes to eating something new after a flare and diagnosis.  Instead I made a pan of cloyingly over-sweet fat free birthday brownies.  Then I remembered this recipe.  I’ve adapted it from an old Weight Watchers recipe from the 90s.  It’s nice enough (in my opinion) for a GP friendly birthday cake or as a little something GP friendly to bring with you to a friend’s house to ensure there is something special to enjoy.  I served my cake with a small rosette of fat free Redi Whip but sorbet or frozen yogurt would work well too.  Wait to sprinkle the powdered sugar until you’re about to serve it as it melts after a while.  I’ve chosen to use seedless raspberry preserves the original calls for apricot preserves.  Each serving has approximately 3 grams of fat and 1 gram of dietary fiber.

Raspberry Filled Chocolate Layer Cake

Makes 12 servings

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup plus 2 teaspoons sugar

2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons reduced calorie tub margarine

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup skim or low fat buttermilk

1/2 cup seedless raspberry preserves

1 tablespoon confectioner’s sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray two 8″ square baking pans with cooking spray.

In a small bowl sift flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and soda and salt.  Set side.

In a medium bowl cream together sugar and margarine.  Add egg and vanilla beating until smooth.  Gradually beat in flour mixture alternately with buttermilk until batter is smooth.

Evenly divide batter between prepared pans.  Bake 10-12 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Transfer pans to a rack to cool.  Remove cakes from pans.  Transfer one cake to a serving plate flat side up.

Meanwhile heat raspberry preserves in a small saucepan over low heat until melted.  Brush half of the preserves on top of cake on the serving plate.  Brush remaining preserves on flat side of remaining cake.  Arrange cakes with fruit sides touching.  Evenly sprinkle top of cake with confectioner’s sugar.  Cut into 12 squares.

2 responses to “Let Them Eat Cake!

  1. Oh this sounds yummy. I will be trying this out for maybe Thanksgiving. Rae

  2. This one is an absolute keeper. I’ve made it with splenda in the past and had good results if you’re worried about sugar. M