Hot Chockie

I like to end the day with something sweet…usually when my husband is eating his dinner.  I eat much earlier but like to keep him company at the table.  By the end of the day I’m usually “dairy-ed out”  So, during the warm months its been sorbet…a trio…raspberry, lemon and chocolate (my favorite).  As the evenings get chilly my my chocolate sweetie gets warm and comforting.  Natural cocoa powder as opposed to Dutch processed retains more of it’s antioxidants.  Cinnamon not only tastes good but has health benefits of it’s own.

Non-dairy Hot Chockie

Makes a single 1 cup serving but can be multiplied

1/4 cup water

3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 heaping tablespoon natural (not dutch processed) cocoa

1 dark chocolate tasting square (I’ve been using Lindt 85%)

splash of vanilla extract

pinch of salt

sweetener of your choice (sugar, splenda, stevia)

pinch of cinnamon (optional)

Place sweetener and cinnamon in a teacup (I like 3 splendas in mine).  Bring water to a boil in a heavy saucepan.  Whisk in cocoa powder until smooth.  Add almond milk and chocolate square bring to a simmer stirring constantly.  Add vanilla and salt.  When chocolate is melted and cocoa is hot pour into cup and stir to combine.

Comments are closed.