Chicken – the only meat so far

Some days the thought of highly seasoned or even any seasoning makes me hesitate and I just keep it plain and simple.  Recently, I’ve been looking forward to a little more flavor and something from the grill before the season slips away.  Chicken is the only meat I’ve been eating and I will eventually try to reintroduce more if and when the time seems right.  The following recipe is based on a similar one on the http://www.eatbetteramerica.com website.  I served it with mashed sweet potato. I hope you enjoy it

Grilled Maple & Cranberry Glazed Chicken

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/4 teaspoon dried french thyme (more or less depending on tolerance – pulverize with a mortar and pestle)

onion powder (to taste)

salt and pepper

1/2 15 oz can jellied cranberry sauce

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

1.Turn chicken breasts over.  If they still have their tenders attached remove and set aside for another meal.  Cut each chicken breast into two cutlets by placing a palm on top and carefully slicing horizontally.  The thinner pieces will cook more quickly and evenly.

2.Season cutlets with thyme, onion powder and salt and pepper.

3.Meanwhile warm the cranberry sauce and maple syrup in a small saucepan.  Whisk until smooth before stirring in vinegar.  Reserve half of glaze for serving.

4.Preheat grill and oil grates.  Cook chicken approximately 4-5 minutes on each side brushing with glaze.  Serve with reserved warm glaze.

4 responses to “Chicken – the only meat so far

  1. This looks yummy! Would it impact the taste if I used red currant jelly? I have rather a lot of it in the fridge!

  2. Thanks! I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. Can’t wait to hear how it is.

  3. This chicken recipe looks awesome. Can I use S/F fake maple syrup since I deal with diabetis. Yummy Thanks Rae

  4. I don’t see why not-it should still have a sweet maple flavor. M