Breakfast of champions

Smoothies are a quick easy breakfast for me.  I find a liquid breakfast is an easy way to start the day as well as an easy way to get protein, calories and some healthy fat.  Everyone with GP has their own unique tolerance for fat and fiber.  I find that fat is more tolerable if it is spread out in a significant amount of liquid.

Banana Chocolate Protein Smoothie

1 cup skim milk

1 envelope Chocolate flavored Carnation Instant Breakfast

1 scoop chocolate flavored whey protein powder (I use Whole Foods brand)

1 large ripe banana

1 Tbl Barlean’s Omega Swirl Flax Oil Supplement- Strawberry and Banana flavor (available at health food stores and on-line @ http://www.barleans.com)

Blend until smooth.  Makes one serving.  Approximately 480 calories, 32 grams of protein and a source of vegetarian Omega 3’s

 

5 responses to “Breakfast of champions

  1. Hi! Love the new blog, am going to try the pita pizzas for lunch next week.

  2. Ummm…yes smoothies are my breakfast of choice…dinner too. I seem to do better if I don’t overload my stomach too early or too late in the day. I also do a Choco Banana Smoothie, but I have a dairy allergy as well, so I modify mine a bit.

    1/4 can lite coconut milk (I use Whole Food’s brand)
    1 scoop egg white protein powder (unflavored or sweetened)
    1/2 to 1 full ripe banana (depends on size)
    Stevia and 1 tsp of sugar
    1 T of cocoa powder (unsweetened)
    a little water (just enough to start the blending process)
    lots of ice cubes
    I also add vitamins: D3 capsule contents, liquid calcium
    Whirled until smooth in a blender or Ninja

    Sometimes I add a tablespoon of low fat natural peanut butter and I’ve tried adding some different flavors of extract which is also yummy

  3. MMM sounds good…have not tried lite coconut milk yet. Maybe there’s a recipe with that on the horizon. I take liquid Vit D3 2,000 units daily to keep my levels up…Carlson makes D drops-1 drop is 2,000 units and each small bottle contains 365 drops.

  4. Thanks for the tip on the D3. I used to use a liquid, but it is not convenient anymore to get that one. I’ll have to look at Whole Foods more closely. Liquids are definitely much better tolerated for me…capsules just seem to sit in my stomach.

  5. I should have mentioned yesterday…I take 2,000 units Vit D3 under my doctor’s supervision. I was deficient and had to take 50,000 units once a week for 12 weeks to get my levels normal…need to go back in a month or two to retest my levels. I don’t like capsules either. All my supplements are liquids.